Matilda’s Speech

Matilda is nearly three yet her speech is a bit worrying šŸ˜Ÿ

It’s not like she is entirely mute la. She totally can speak and even sing songs, but she doesn’t really…converse with us. If she wants something or tell us how she feels about something, she just gesture or sign. Just body language and lots of grunting or babbling.

I read it’s because she lacks attention from us and spends a lot of time in front of the TV or handphone watching cartoon. That’s why she doesn’t know how to communicate with people. I think it’s true šŸ˜”

So I quickly intervene before she gets worse. I started being annoying, meaning, I asked her questions A LOT and asked her to repeat after me. I forced her to tell me what she wants before I give her the thing. I think it has been weeks since I did that and she shows some improvements!

We are not conversing fully now like any adorable three year old with their moms on Youtube, but at least she could tell me a few things that she wants unlike before. First she get my attention by walking towards me and pulling my hand – she knows I’m Mommy but doesn’t call me that…yet – and when she starts pulling I asked her, “What you want?” Just recently she is able to reply me, for example, “Puzzle!” If she wants me to open or turn on something, she’ll point at it and say “Open/Turn on!”

I assume she doesn’t know what to ask or answer before that’s why she doesn’t reply us when we ask her šŸ˜‚ But I taught her what to say if she wants something and so far she has learned it!

If she wants to watch her favourite cartoon, she’ll hand me the remote and say something like “Washi washi Mickey Mouse” but I know she really wants to say “Want to watch Mickey Mouse” haha šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚ Only a mom understands their child’s speech. Some of her words are not perfect yet but what matters most is progress, right?

5 thoughts on “Matilda’s Speech

  1. mommyb says:

    mau kasi banyak dia bekawan ni chii. .. kasi main sama2.. dulu c hazel kan dia bekawan sama anak buah sa yang primary sda .. sana dia cepat tangkap ni.. n skg dia ok sda apa dia mau mmg dia ask sda cuma tu sebutan la brp clear..hihi

    Like

Leave a Reply

